Codex of Aihrde Expansion The Darkenfold



In days long past, the Ethvold’s roots grew deep and her boughs spread, or so men claimed, from the setting to the rising sun. Peopled by beasts of wild abandon, gods as old as the world itself, men of legend and a life all its own, the Ethvold was the mightiest of woods.

But that was in days long past. Now the Ethvold is gone, and only a remnant of it remains, small woods in the north, the Eldwood along the sea and the Darkenfold in the south.

The Eldwood, to the east, holds the heart of the old wood, but the Darkenfold holds its dark memories.

It is an evil wood, filled with its own wild abandon and creatures of ill intent. Those who live there know that the trees and the soil hold memories of their past glory and do not forget the axes of men, orcs, dwarves, and goblins that have plundered them of their wealth and life.

This Codex of Aihrde Expansion explore the length and breadth of the Darkenfold, from the Perth Timberland in the north to the Downs in the south, from the famous town of Ends Meet where Otto runs the Cocklebur Inn and Tavern to Bootstraps where almost anything is for sale.

Mountains of features are fleshed out complete with adventure hooks for almost any fantasy role playing game.

Additional information

Weight 0.5 lbs
Dimensions 11 × 8.5 × 0.25 in



1st Printing

Page Count



Black & White



Product History

Back in Troll Lord Games’ early days, there was a proposed line of books, the Companion Books, designed to expound upon one subject or the other. The first of these was Winter Runes (2001) by Stephen Chenault, and it explored the Gottland region in the Lands of Ursal in the world of Aihrde, included adventure material, some plane travel, equipment, and other odds and ends. The Gottland region terrain and towns was singled out and described, more history and local fauna and flora explored. Though the Companion Books fell by the wayside (there were only 2), the idea of exploring Aihrde in more detail was not. In 2015, the 1st printing of the Codex of Aihrde took place (previously the Codex of Erde) and with it the idea of these books resurfaced. The concept was retitled to the Codex of Aihrde Expansion Books and the first one released was the Darkenfold, it was released in 2015. Stephen Chenault chose the Darkenfold over the already written material from Gottland for several reasons. Primarily because the Gottland material was at the time in a book called Rune Lore (now out of print), and he didn’t want to take the value from that book. Secondly, the Darkenfold was and remains Steve’s favorite place to run games. He knows the land very well, down to creeks and other very specific terrain features. With that in mind, he penned the first in the series and Codex of Aihrde Expansion The Darkenfold 1st printing released in 2015. It remained in print for many years, and though the text was not updated, the cover, printing and stock code eventually were. The original stock code of 8080 was changed to 8706 to line up with the other expansion books and Codex of Aihrde Expansion The Darkenfold 1st printing released in 2015. Like many of TLG’s products, the content of the book remains as it first appeared and those who own the 1st and 2nd printings enjoy the same content.


Authors: Stephen Chenault Cover Artist: Jason Walton & Peter Bradley Interior Artists: Peter Bradley Editors: Elizabeth Anne