setting foot in c&c

Where Crusaders Gather to Discuss C&C, games they are playing, hook up for conventions and more.
jdizzy001
Ulthal

setting foot in c&c

Post by jdizzy001 »

I'm a 12 year RPG veteran. this Friday will be my 1st c&c game. I will be the ck and I have 5 newbies who have never ever roleplayed before. I am very excited! any c&c specific advice?

Omote
Battle Stag

Re: setting foot in c&c

Post by Omote »

Being a 12 year vet, you know most of the good advice. Since this is your first C&C game, remember, don't sweat the details of the C&C game at first. You might get tripped up time to time when using the Siege Engine to resolved tasks -- that's only natural.

The best advice I can give, especially with C&C is not to overuse rolling for checks! The characters in your campaign are probably above average mooks, and they don't need to roll for every little action they perform. For example, if the party needs to climb up the face of a small hill, as long as the climb is not very challanging, don't roll for it! These are heroes and strong adventurers, climbing a hill is mundane enough that you can describe and assume the make the climb.

I'm not sure what your background in adventure roleplaying is, but IMO, C&C is not designed to have to make checks for easy or mundane actions. The Seige Engine is a little tougher than most to succeed at rolls, so if you roll a lot, you are bound to fail more than make. Use the Seige Engine system liberally.

All the best! Enjoy your game, and welcome to your first engagement in the Crusade!

~O
@-Duke Omote Landwehr, Holy Order of the FPQ ~ Prince of the Castles & Crusades Society-@
VAE VICTUS!
>> Omote's Advanced C&C stuff <<

redwullf
Ulthal

Post by redwullf »