Attribute increases

A forum to discuss Endless Worlds Organised Play events.
(NOTE: This was the Society News forum and has legacy threads that have not yet been sorted)
jdizzy001
Ulthal

Attribute increases

Post by jdizzy001 »

Good day all,

I am new to c&c and unless i am mistaken, i noticed there is no way to improve your attributes as you level. Mainstream d20 indicates one or two stat increases every forth level. I was thinking of using the pendragon experience check method. This method allows for possible stat increases every level, if you're really lucky.

In its simplest form, if you do something awesome the CK would tell you to mark the attribute you used to perform your awesome feat. Once you level you would roll 1d20 for each marked attribute. If your check (no modifiers) exceeds X (X = current attribute value) the stat increases by one point.

IE- i have a str 12. When i level my CK allows me to make a str check (no modifiers). I roll a 15, success! My str permenantly increases to 13. If i fail the check, no increase. I can do this once for each stat the was awarded an experience check during the previous level.

How do you handle attribute increases, or do you?

Volomyre
Ungern

Re: Attribute increases

Post by Volomyre »

I don't.
The way I have played D&D, AD&D and will play C&C is with attribute raises being rare.
It would require legendary magic items.
Even wishes only raise them by a fraction.
I have played and ran games like this since the 80's and no player has ever had an issue.

But I have little experience with the newer editions of D&D.

Just my humble opinion.

Volo.

P.S. In the Castle Keepers Guide they have guidelines for attribute increases at the higher levels... I would use those.

Omote
Battle Stag

Post by Omote »

I use a system of attribute increase somewhat similar to 3E. Characters can choose special abilities or increases at certain levels of experience. One of those choices is a simple +1 to an attribute.

~O