On dungeon mapping

C&C discussion. Fantasy roleplaying.
New products, general questions, the rules, laws, and the chaos.
jahydin
Ungern

On dungeon mapping

Post by jahydin »

I've been gaming for 30 years now, but one thing I'm still struggling with is how to handle dungeon maps during play. I've done everything from drawing the entire thing out on giant sheets of 1" grid paper, complete theater of the mind, and just about any variant in between. I've used Chessex mats, dungeon tiles, 3D terrain... you name it, I've probably done it. Nothing has really clicked though.

When it comes to player characters mapping, that too is constantly changing. From no maps, to simple node diagrams, all the way to faithful 1:1 meticulous recreations; I've still not settled on anything in that respect either.

Recently, I've been cutting up a printed map and handing out individual rooms and passages to players to "glue stick" as they explore. Battle areas are pre-drawn on dry-erase tiles for quick setup. I'm liking this so far, as it seems to speed things up while keeping the players somewhat mapping (they have to decide where and which orientation to glue it). Also, prep time is minimal and keeps battles slightly tactical. Only major downside is many maps have secret doors visible, so have to be clever about hiding them.

Very curious how everyone else handles these things.

Captain_K
Greater Lore Drake

Re: On dungeon mapping

Post by Captain_K »

The good old days were you started with a door to the dungeon in the bottom middle of the 8.5" x 11" 1/4" hex map... you knew where to search for secret doors because there were unexplored sections on your sheet...

Yeah, I totally forgot about mapping these days. I never introduced it to my new groups and they never just started having someone map. They have found maps. They have tracked, left chalk marks etc. to not loose their way or get out... but not dealt with maps.