Tomb of Horrors

C&C discussion. Fantasy roleplaying.
New products, general questions, the rules, laws, and the chaos.
Captain_K
Greater Lore Drake

Tomb of Horrors

Post by Captain_K »

I started playing DnD in 1979 or so... we may have played some modules, but not many. That said, with the "Ready Player One: book/movie being based on "Tomb of Horrors"... I was thinking about getting the original DnD module. I do not think I ever played it. What I've read on line says, "Do not waste your time." "Do not use loved characters"... "You'll make your PCs nuts.. this is the reason there is a 10' pole...."

1) Where can I get the old school original print/pdf?
2) Should I run anyone through it? Is it fun?
Wow, Another Natural One! You guys are a sink hole for luck. Stay away from my dice.

anvil242
Hlobane Orc

Re: Tomb of Horrors

Post by anvil242 »

Buttmonkey
Greater Lore Drake

Post by Buttmonkey »

You can get it at RPG Now/Drive Thru in PDF for $4.99.

ToH is not a traditional module. Gygax designed it to challenge cocky players who thought they could handle anything thrown at them. The module is a death trap that demands hyper-cautious play to survive. Players who turn up their noses at spells like augury are in for a rough time. You need/want cannon fodder to send down corridors and touch things while the PC masterminds hang back. If you've ever played a DCC funnel adventure, you have a feel for what to expect.

I have never played through it personally. I think it could make for a fun novelty one shot for your gaming group, but I wouldn't incorporate it into your campaign and use regular PCs unless your players understand what they are getting into and want this kind of thing inflicted on their PCs.