Holding an Action

C&C discussion. Fantasy roleplaying.
New products, general questions, the rules, laws, and the chaos.
Snoring Rock
Lore Drake

Holding an Action

Post by Snoring Rock »

Ok I just started playing C&C again last night. How does holding an action work? I cannot find it.

mmbutter
Red Cap

Re: Holding an Action

Post by mmbutter »

When your turn comes up in the initiative order, you tell the CK you're going to wait. Then, later in the round, you tell the CK when you want to take your action.

Kayolan
Lore Drake

Post by Kayolan »

mmbutter wrote:When your turn comes up in the initiative order, you tell the CK you're going to wait. Then, later in the round, you tell the CK when you want to take your action.
That's how I do it as well.

This is how disrupting spell casting is handled in my games as I'm a CK who doesn't require that the spell is announced before initiative is rolled or that a caster who gets hit can't cast for that round if it happens before their initiative turn.

Snoring Rock
Lore Drake

Post by Snoring Rock »

I do it the same way, but I do not see the rules end where in the PHB. Is it not mentioned in C&C?

mmbutter
Red Cap

Post by mmbutter »

There's a reason why C&C is a "rules light" system. They don't attempt to make rules for every situation; a lot is left to common sense and CK discretion.

alcyone
Greater Lore Drake

Post by alcyone »

Snoring Rock wrote:I do it the same way, but I do not see the rules end where in the PHB. Is it not mentioned in C&C?
It's not mentioned in C&C.
My C&C stuff: www.rpggrognard.com

T1Hound
Hlobane Orc

Post by T1Hound »

You can use it from I believe 2E Combat & Tactics.

It was similar to:
On your initiative, declare your action and a trigger. I.e., wait for the wizard to start casting, then attack.

You are focused on that action until the next initiative for your character.

Kayolan
Lore Drake

Post by Kayolan »