logistical issues with monsters

C&C discussion. Fantasy roleplaying.
New products, general questions, the rules, laws, and the chaos.
dramegno
Henchman

logistical issues with monsters

Post by dramegno »

sorry if this is the wrong forum for this.

Hey I am a CK that still wet behind the ears, and I am going crazy trying to keep various monster stats straight, organized and ck friendly. As in mainly health/damage, xp, and loot. I am still learning and would like some tricks of the trade to make game play a little smoother.

Fiffergrund
Lore Drake

Re: logistical issues with monsters

Post by Fiffergrund »

Moved into the Rules, Laws and Chaos forum, as you're looking for general advice, and I think the entire community can help provide some pointers.
Marshal Fiffergrund, Knight-Errant of the Castle and Crusade Society

Fizz
Lore Drake

Post by Fizz »

For me, the only stats you really need "quickly" are those for combat. So attack bonus, hit points, damage, those are the big 3. How much detailed info you need depends on the monster. Little guys like goblins or kobolds are easy- since they often go down on one hit and have few special abilities. But bigger enemies with multiple attacks, you'll want to write down a few numbers on a spare sheet of paper. Of course, these are probably planned encounters, so you can be ready for them.

As for XP, you can work that out later. XP doesn't have to be awarded right after combat. I find a good way to do it is work it out after the session is over, and then award it at the start of the next session.