View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:51 am



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Question about the Amnug 
Author Message
Ulthal
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 2:03 am
Posts: 672
Post Question about the Amnug
First off, gotta say I absolutley LOVE M&T of Ahirde. Great good, rich detailed histories for all the monster as well as the treasure, awsome stuff.

Now, my question...I noticed the Amnug as 2 heads, but only seems to get one attack. Is that a misprint or an oversight? I can't think, off the top of my head, where a creature with 2 heads did not get some type of extra attack (but then, I don't know the C&C creatures as well). Are there any precedents for this this?

I'm considering increasing the XP value of the Amnug and giving that sucker 2 attacks. Has anyone else done this?

Either way, LOVE the creature. Very cool backbround and history with it, and a neat concept.


Sun Jan 08, 2012 4:27 pm
Profile
Battle Stag
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:00 am
Posts: 11549
Location: The fairest view in the park, Ohio.
Post Re: Question about the Amnug
I can't reply specifically, but I can that if you look at the ettin in the M&T you'll see that it has two attacks if using 1-handed weapons, but only one attack if using a two-handed weapon.

~O

_________________
@-Duke Omote Landwehr, Holy Order of the FPQ ~ Prince of the Castles & Crusades Society-@
VAE VICTUS!
>> Omote's Advanced C&C stuff <<


Sun Jan 08, 2012 4:30 pm
Profile WWW
Mogrl

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:00 am
Posts: 13789
Post Re: Question about the Amnug
There are not many multi-headed monsters, but of them, they all get additional attacks, assuming they 1) have a natural attack to use (like a bite) or 2) have means to use them (like arms or weapon use). An ettin, for example, is a special case as each head controls an arm (and therefore, should not suffer off-hand penalties). Hydras can attack with each bite. Sometimes, the heads have to work in tandem for an effect.

One thing that is true about C&C... just because A has rule 1, rule 1 may not apply to B, even if A is B.

However, I give that creature 4 attacks. I'm mean.


Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:11 pm
Profile
Ulthal
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 2:03 am
Posts: 672
Post Re: Question about the Amnug
Well, I did end up giving it two attacks and increased the XPs accordingly. Ran nicely. Was down to 1 HP for about 4 rounds in a row, but the half orc fighter with the +5 to hit couldn't roll over a 5, lol!!

Great fun. I'd suggest giving the monster that extra attack for sure. Definately gives it a little more bite (pun intended) :D


Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:32 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.